Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Higamos Hogamos: 'Infinity Plus One'

Artist: Higamos Hogamos
Title: Infinity Plus One
Format: 12"/digital download
Label: DC Recordings (UK)
Cat.no.: DCR102
Date: 27 April 2009


1. Infinity Plus One (3:02)
2. The Creepers [Muscleheads Version] (5:50)
3. Infinity Plus One [The Emperor Machine Extended Version] (7:46)
4. Infinity Plus One [The Emperor Machine Dub Instrumental] (3:55)

Press release notes:

Higamos Hogamos' 'Infinity Plus One' is the second single taken from the eponymous debut album and crystalizes the band's warped mission - to fuse shimmering glam with motorik groove. The result is a truly mind-bending concoction of space age pop that gets the remix treatments here from two members of the shadowy DC roster...

The Emperor Machine delivers two remixes for this single. The first is an extended version - a disco-fied throbber that has the making of a dancefloor epic with its layers of arpeggiated melodies and uplifting melodic thrusts. This is heavy, orgiastic material that hints at the powerful new material coming from The Emperor Machine in the spring and summer of 2009. The second Emperor Machine remixes halves the BPM and pours on the delay, allowing this one to soak up enough to slink into dubwise territory.

For the the third remix Muscleheads take album track 'The Creeper' and rework it into a sinister dancefloor creation that recalls their now infamous 'Phosphorescence' (as featured on the Death Before Distemper 2 compilation), bringing a haunted edge to the original's decadent swagger.

No comments: